Prize essay: Waitz, Financial advisor in Cassel.

The Simpson Prize requires you to respond to the quote and question above using both the Simpson Prize Australian War Memorial Source Selection (which can be found at ) and your own research.

Prize essay: Kästner , Professor of Mathematics in Leipzig.

Prize essay: von Hertzberg, Legationsrath.

Prize essay: Le Cat, doctor of Medicine und Surgery in Rouen.

Kant prepared an essay on this question, but did not submit it. Schwab received one-half of the prize money, and Reinhold and Abicht each received one-fourth. This question was first formulated in the academy on 24 January 1788, to be publicly announced the following year, but in fact was not announced until 1790, with 1 January 1792 as the deadline for submissions. Schwab’s essay was the only entry received, however, so the deadline was extended to 1 June 1795, resulting in over thirty submissions.

Prize essay: A. F. Reinhard, Justizrath des Herzogs von Strelitz:

Prize essay: Johann Christoph Schwab of Stuttgart, with second place shared by Karl Leonhard Reinhold of Kiel and Johann Heinrich Abicht of Erlangen; the three essays were published in 1796 (Berlin: Friedrich Maurer).

Prize essay: Pater Frisi, Professor in Pisa.

Prize essay: Eberhard , Pastor in Charlottenburg.

Prizes up to a total of $5900* will be awarded to high school students whose entries best promote the humane treatment of animals, including:*We reserve the right to adjust the number of prizes and the amounts of the prizes based on the entries received.

Prize essay: Pap de Fagaras, reformed pastor in Transylvania.

Prize essay: This was put off until 1801. It drew many submissions, and the opposing essays by Bendavid of Berlin and Degenerando of Paris were given the prize.

Prize essay: Herder, Generalsuperintendent in Weimar.

The prize was split between one essay in the affirmative (de Castillon) and one in the negative (Becker). Forty-two essays were submitted; of these, five were disqualified because they arrived late, and four were disqualified because their authors had revealed their identity in the essay. Of the remaining thirty-three essays, twenty answered the question negatively and thirteen positively. Eleven were designated as “good”: four of the negative, and seven of the affirmative essays. Nine received the (three negative, and six positive).

Prize essay: Sabbathier, professor in Chalons sur Marne.

Prize essay: Hennert, Professor of Mathematics in Utrecht.

The prize was created after the death of multi-millionaire and inventor Alfred Nobel who amassed a great fortune through the creation and manufacturing of dynamite for use in transportation, farming and building (Kushner p.

Apart from the prize winner, Garve  and Meiners  also submitted essays.

Prize essay: Bailly from the Academy of Sciences in Paris.

“The IEA Brexit Prize was designed to provide an intellectual analysis of a post-referendum UK, not to assess the desirability of a British exit from the EU,” the IEA said. “Iain Mansfield’s winning essay at no point promoted a particular view on the politics of this question and was clearly written in a personal capacity.

Prize essay: Herder , Hofprediger in Bückeburg.

Prize essay: Hennert, Professor of Mathematics in Utrecht.

The Nobel Prize is awarded annually for achievements during the previous year, in the categories of physics, chemistry, medicine, or physiology, literature, and the promotion of peace.